China Glory Cycling: the new kid on the block

Updated: Feb 21

New in the continental cycling scene is China Glory Cycling. The Chinese team will compete on continental level in 2022, and has big ambitions for the years after.

China Glory Cycling’s main goal is to develop cyclists from China. The team, led by former professional cyclists Maarten Tjallingii and Amaël Moinard, aims to do so by educating young Chinese riders through experienced international cyclists. Lionel Marie has joined the team as a sports director and the management has been working closely with Han Feng and Yuan Yuan from the Chinese Cycling Association.

Six of the twelve riders of China Glory Cycling in 2022 are Chinese: Changsheng Zhang, Chao Zeng, Ming Xue, Changquan Xu, Xianjing Lyu and Nazaerbieke Bieken. The international riders are Sean Bennett, Lucas De Rossi, Reinier Honig, Willie Smit, Hayden Strong and Etienne van Empel.

China Glory Cycling’s goal is to have Chinese cyclists eligible to compete in the Olympic Games of 2024 in Paris, as well as reaching the Champs-Élysées of the Tour de France in 2025.

Follow China Glory Cycling on its social media channels. #ForGlory.